Wow, that was really interesting (I LOVE youtube, btw). Thanks for posting! I'm going to have to find me some of those from sweet and sara--mmm...toasted coconut...Too bad for that other girl :-\
Wow, that was really interesting (I LOVE youtube, btw). Thanks for posting! I'm going to have to find me some of those from sweet and sara--mmm...toasted coconut...Too bad for that other girl :-\
It makes me wonder how many other substitutes are really not vegetarian but are actually fraudulently like the Emes (s?) gelatin.
0 likes
Posted by VegHeadZealia on Jun 25, 2007 · Member since Mar 2007 · 1665 posts
whats wrong with Kosher? If its vegan, its vegan, right? Kosher doesn't mean much more than that the food has met a standard of cleanliness associated with Jewish (Levitical) laws. Is there something funky about it I should know?
0 likes
Posted by yabbitgirl on Jun 25, 2007 · Member since Apr 2006 · 14266 posts
Fish gelatin is pareve, and therefore kosher. It is considered neither meat nor milk. (Eggs are also pareve). But fish gelatin is not vegan. Ergo if a marshmallow is made with fish gelatin, it would be kosher but not vegan. QED.
0 likes
Posted by VegHeadZealia on Jun 25, 2007 · Member since Mar 2007 · 1665 posts
Oh! I get it...I thought they were indicating that the marshmellows were both vegan and Kosher... Thanks for the very complete explanation, though!
0 likes
Posted by Anonymous on Jun 25, 2007 · Member since Dec 1969 · 11789 posts
It makes me wonder how many other substitutes are really not vegetarian but are actually fraudulently like the Emes (s?) gelatin.
Good point. No one ever thought to ask "hey if this isn't gelatine than what vegetable is it made out of?" Similar subject but a bit different... I know there is a pizza place here in Indy that has a vegan pizza. but the pizza has green olives on it. I know it's hard to find green olives that don't have lactic acid in them so I wonder if their green olives are really vegan, or if someone just thinks that they are. Same thing with another local restarant that was using worcestershire sauce in a "vegan" dish until a vegan employee saw them making the dish and said "hey wait a minute! that's not vegan!" They changed the recipe once they found out but I think a lot of people just don't bother looking into it, or just don't know better. Of course in this case the Emes people did know better.
Posted by yabbitgirl on Jun 25, 2007 · Member since Apr 2006 · 14266 posts
Re: olives etc. I think a lot of restaurants etc figure it's "vegan enough" if there's just trace elements or it's "only in the packing water, and that gets drained off" or whatever. Like saying "close enough for government work"--and we all know what that means. ;D ;D Item: it would not be "close enough" for kosher or halal, but that's another matter, I guess.
Apparently these are the "only vegan marshmallows":
http://store.nexternal.com/shared/StoreFront/default.asp?CS=vegane&BusType=BtoC&Count1=544170558&Count2=461310982&CategoryID=1&Target=products.asp
I haven't tried them yet--I've been waiting for a camping trip to see if they roast well for S'Mores...
There is an interesting two part video on youtube about vegetarian marshmallows that's very interesting and troubling:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYrhWHQ6pb0 (is the first part)
:(
There is an interesting two part video on youtube about vegetarian marshmallows that's very interesting and troubling:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYrhWHQ6pb0 (is the first part)
:(
Wow, that was really interesting (I LOVE youtube, btw). Thanks for posting! I'm going to have to find me some of those from sweet and sara--mmm...toasted coconut...Too bad for that other girl :-\
There is an interesting two part video on youtube about vegetarian marshmallows that's very interesting and troubling:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYrhWHQ6pb0 (is the first part)
:(
Wow, that was really interesting (I LOVE youtube, btw). Thanks for posting! I'm going to have to find me some of those from sweet and sara--mmm...toasted coconut...Too bad for that other girl :-\
It makes me wonder how many other substitutes are really not vegetarian but are actually fraudulently like the Emes (s?) gelatin.
whats wrong with Kosher? If its vegan, its vegan, right? Kosher doesn't mean much more than that the food has met a standard of cleanliness associated with Jewish (Levitical) laws. Is there something funky about it I should know?
Fish gelatin is pareve, and therefore kosher. It is considered neither meat nor milk. (Eggs are also pareve). But fish gelatin is not vegan. Ergo if a marshmallow is made with fish gelatin, it would be kosher but not vegan.
QED.
Oh! I get it...I thought they were indicating that the marshmellows were both vegan and Kosher... Thanks for the very complete explanation, though!
It makes me wonder how many other substitutes are really not vegetarian but are actually fraudulently like the Emes (s?) gelatin.
Good point. No one ever thought to ask "hey if this isn't gelatine than what vegetable is it made out of?" Similar subject but a bit different... I know there is a pizza place here in Indy that has a vegan pizza. but the pizza has green olives on it. I know it's hard to find green olives that don't have lactic acid in them so I wonder if their green olives are really vegan, or if someone just thinks that they are. Same thing with another local restarant that was using worcestershire sauce in a "vegan" dish until a vegan employee saw them making the dish and said "hey wait a minute! that's not vegan!" They changed the recipe once they found out but I think a lot of people just don't bother looking into it, or just don't know better. Of course in this case the Emes people did know better.
Re: olives etc. I think a lot of restaurants etc figure it's "vegan enough" if there's just trace elements or it's "only in the packing water, and that gets drained off" or whatever. Like saying "close enough for government work"--and we all know what that means. ;D ;D Item: it would not be "close enough" for kosher or halal, but that's another matter, I guess.