You are here

newbie question

So is there a place where I can see a list of what foods are generally vegan or not vegan?  Today I was at a coffee shop having a soy mocha and bagel with peanut butter.  As I was biting into it I realized that I had no idea if it had eggs or butter in it, or if my soy mocha had dairy in the chocolate syrup they use.

Any advice? Or should I just get used to asking about every single thing I eat, no matter how basic?

It really depends on where you are eating.  You can generally get nutritional information from the website, and they really SHOULD have that information for you at the coffee shop.  Especially because people have dairy allergies.  I say just ask.  Or if you know you are going to a chain coffee shop ahead of time, check their website.

0 likes

as a general rule though, MOST bagels are vegan and MOST syrups are vegan too. i think there would probably be more of a chance of the bread on a veggie burger at a restaurant isnt vegan than a bagel.  i, unlike others, am not super duper strict.

what i do, if i can't get a recipe from a specific company, say the little chain coffee shop in my town, then i will go online and read a bunch of non vegan recipes to see if they usually have milk and egg.  like bagels.  if you read a bunch of recipes online, most of them dont use milk, so the ones in the store are probably vegan too.  i also try to stick with denser, whole wheat varieties.  those have more of a chance of being vegan as compared to white, fluffy kinds.  and if something makes me sick, then it probably wasnt vegan, and i dont eat it again : )

that being said.  i have tons of respect for people who wont eat something until they know that it is totally vegan.  i think thats awesome and takes a lot of patience.  go you all!

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments